If you’ve ever driven in New York traffic, you know it can be a nightmare. Not only that, but the potential of an accident is high.
While no one wants to be in an accident or deal with the aftermath, one of the worst things you can do in this situation is to leave the scene. In fact, doing so may lead to more serious and long-term consequences.
According to New York law, if you are involved in an accident that causes property damage, you must stop your vehicle and give the other party your information (name, driver’s license number and insurance details).
If you hit a stationary object, like a parked vehicle, you must file a report with the local police. If you don’t follow the “letter of the law” in these situations, you may receive a traffic violation. Potential penalties for this include 15 days in jail and up to a $250 file.
If someone is involved in an injury, the accident is considered more serious. In fact, New York law requires you to report any accident causing an injury. If you don’t adhere to these requirements, you may face a criminal charge. The penalty that applies to this situation varies based on the severity of the injury.
It’s important to understand the potential consequences of leaving the scene of an accident in New York when property damage or injuries have occurred. If you are accused of a traffic violation or a criminal offense, you do have legal rights and options. Knowing what these are may help you avoid serious penalties and fines.
Fields marked with an * are required
"*" indicates required fields